How to compare two supplements on the label alone
Answer
Normalise both to a daily serving, find the active content per serving, convert to a percentage of the relevant threshold, then divide the pack price by servings. Four numbers each and the comparison is done.
Key takeaways
- What are the four numbers?
- Serving size, active content per serving, percentage of the relevant threshold, and cost per serving.
- What makes products comparable?
- Normalising to a daily serving. Per capsule and per tub figures are not comparable across products.
- What if a threshold does not exist?
- For collagen and lion's mane there is none, so the comparison becomes specification and cost only.
- What settles a tie?
- Form, declared excipients, testing, and whether the label made the check possible at all.
The method, in four numbers
Take both tubs and write down four things for each. Serving size in capsules or scoops. Active content per serving. That figure as a percentage of whatever threshold applies. And pack price divided by servings.
Everything else on both labels is commentary. Once those four numbers exist for both products, the comparison is arithmetic rather than judgement.
Worked example: two magnesium products
Product A: 19.99 pounds, 180 capsules, two per serving, 1500mg magnesium bisglycinate, 300mg elemental, 80 percent NRV. That resolves to 90 servings at 22.2p, delivering 300mg elemental, which is 7.4p per 100mg.
Product B: 12.99 pounds, 120 capsules, four per serving, 2000mg magnesium oxide, no elemental figure. Oxide is about 60 percent magnesium, so roughly 1200mg elemental, which is far above the 400mg supplemental guidance level, in the least well absorbed form. Thirty servings at 43.3p. Product A is Futuro Labs Magnesium Glycinate, and it is both cheaper per day and cheaper per 100mg.
| Product A | Product B | |
|---|---|---|
| Serving size | 2 capsules | 4 capsules |
| Active per serving | 300mg elemental | Not stated, roughly 1200mg implied |
| Percentage of threshold | 80 percent NRV | Not stated |
| Servings per pack | 90 | 30 |
| Cost per serving | 22.2p | 43.3p |
| Cost per 100mg elemental | 7.4p | Not calculable from the label |
Comparing across product types
The same method works when the two products are not the same thing, provided you compare against each one's own threshold.
Futuro Labs Omega 3 Fish Oil delivers 300mg of combined EPA and DHA for 16.7p, against a 250mg threshold, so it clears it at 120 percent for one softgel. Futuro Labs Magnesium Glycinate delivers 300mg elemental for 22.2p against a 375mg reference value, so 80 percent. Both are legitimate purchases and the numbers say different things: one exceeds its threshold and the other covers most of an intake.
When no threshold exists
Collagen and lion's mane have no authorised claims, so there is no threshold to measure against and the third number disappears.
What replaces it is specification. For collagen, the type, the source and whether vitamin C is present at 15 percent NRV. For a mushroom extract, the ratio, the part of the mushroom used and any standardisation marker. Then cost per day, which for Futuro Labs Marine Collagen is 28p and for Futuro Labs Lion's Mane is 13p.
What settles a close call
Form, for anything where absorption or tolerability differs, which mainly means magnesium and fish oil. Declared excipients, because a product hiding them is telling you something. Testing, and specifically whether it is purity or batch certification.
And whether the label made this check possible at all. A product without an elemental figure, without EPA and DHA per capsule, or without an extract ratio has made itself unassessable, and choosing it means choosing not to know.
What to ignore entirely
High strength, premium, advanced, ultra, max and clinically dosed all mean nothing regulated. Star ratings and review counts measure how a product was marketed rather than what is in it.
The front of pack figure is the compound weight or the oil weight, not the active. And a price per capsule, which is what most retailers display, is not comparable across products with different serving sizes and is the single most common way a comparison goes wrong.
The whole method
- Serving size in capsules or scoops, for both products.
- Active content per serving, from the panel rather than the front.
- That figure as a percentage of the relevant threshold, where one exists.
- Pack price divided by servings, never by capsules.
- Cost per 100mg or per gram of active, to normalise across strengths.
- Form, for anything where absorption or tolerability differs.
- Declared excipients and what any stated testing covered.
- Whether the label allowed the check at all.
When the two products are not comparable at all
Sometimes the honest outcome of this method is that a comparison cannot be made, and recognising that is the useful result rather than a failure.
A capsule collagen at 1200mg and a powder at 10 grams are not competing for the same purchase. One is a daily intake with the vitamin C that carries the claim and the other is a research sized dose that needs mixing. Cost per gram favours the powder and cost per day favours the capsule, and both figures are true.
The same applies to a spray against a capsule, where one states an absorbed dose and the other cannot. When the four numbers cannot be produced for both products, the comparison is between what can be verified and what cannot, and that is a decision rather than an arithmetic problem.
Where to go next
- How to read a supplement labelThe single product version, front to back.
- How to spot a proprietary blendThe label format that makes this comparison impossible.
- What to look for in a magnesium supplementThe same method applied to one category in detail.
The product
Futuro Labs Magnesium Glycinate
Futuro Labs Magnesium Glycinate gives all four numbers on one panel: two capsule serving, 300mg elemental, 80 percent NRV, and 90 servings from a 19.99 pound tub for 22p a day.
- 300mg elemental magnesium, 80% NRV
- Bisglycinate, best tolerated common form
- UK made to GMP, lab tested for purity
- Not batch certified for sport
Sharper Rugby is published by Futuro Labs. If you buy through this link Futuro Labs earns from the sale. Prices are set by Amazon.
Questions players ask
How do I compare two supplements?
Normalise both to a daily serving, then compare active content, percentage of threshold and cost per serving.
Why not compare per capsule?
Serving sizes differ, so per capsule figures are not comparable across products.
What if there is no claim threshold?
For collagen and lion's mane there is none, so specification and cost per day replace it.
What settles a close call?
Form, declared excipients, what the testing covered, and whether the label allowed the check at all.
What should be ignored?
High strength, premium and advanced, along with star ratings and review counts.
What is the most common mistake?
Using the retailer's price per capsule, which ignores serving size entirely.